I think we’ve decided not to decorate for Christmas this year. Wow, you might say, how can you not do that?!! Well, trust me, I’m having a hard time adjusting to it myself. But, in light of practicality, we have decided to keep our stash of Christmas decorations in storage. With our travel plans for Christmas (here I come, Hawaii!!!) and the possibility of a move very shortly added with the overwhelming thought that we will once again have to pack up all our stuff and travel to a new home, it doesn’t make sense to bring two more boxes up here just in time to pack them back up again. So, anyway, I’m bummed because I love to decorate for the holidays (especially Christmas) – there is something about decorating that adds to the excitement and anticipation of the coming of Christ!

I have decided since I can’t decorate (or at least have our own stuff) that I will have to start projects that have something to do with Christmas. This is exciting for me, because it will mean I get to knit presents and use my creative genius in different ways – thus, save money and do what I love!

Here is the first one:


Also, my small group has given me great ideas for decorations that involve little money and that I can basically throw away when done. For example, one of my friends is going to let me cut some of her pine tree for garland and she has also given me great ideas that are inexpensive. And my wonderful husband has put a seasonal Christmas mix into our CD changer (much sooner than he himself would normally do!) just so I can feel in the spirit! Incidentally, this is what I am listening to right this moment đŸ™‚

But, most importantly, I want to focus on what this season is all about. God sent His only son, Jesus, to come into this imperfect world. He lived a life of scorn and ridicule and eventually He died on a cross for you and for me. All of this in order to save us from eternal death and suffering. This Christmas marks Jesus’ entrance onto this earth. And He did it just for us! O Holy Night!

