Me, Aly, and Hadar while we were waiting for our class picture

It’s been a long two years, but to be honest it really flew by. Last Thursday I graduated with my BSN (Bachelor of Science in Nursing). It was a weird sort of day. I had a hard time grasping reality (first, that I was actually graduating; second, that I was really back on US soil; and third, that this was the first time in 2 months that I had seen my friends and classmates). It is hard to realize that what I have known as reality for the past two years is now done. I’m moving on to new things. I won’t be “living”at school anymore. I don’t have to study every waking moment (except for NCLEX…). My whole schedule will be changing. I will be learning new things (for which I am excited – learning is cool!) and putting my education into practice (which, to be honest, leaves my knees weak sometimes).


It was lovely to have family down for the day (and a few days after). Graduation day was beautiful – possibly the nicest day since I’ve been home from Durban. Clear blue skies, warm sunlight, and lots of happy people. The ceremony was at the Lyric Opera House in downtown Baltimore, which was a gorgeous venue. I had never been inside and I was pleasently surprised 🙂 The actual ceremony speaker was a little disapointing, but the rest of the day was nice. After the ceremony we headed to Philips for dinner and enjoyed eating outside basking in the beautiful weather on the harbor.


At Philips, chatting with my brother

What’s next? Well, I have a job (start date pending passing my board exam) at the University of Maryland Medical Center. I will be working on their Infectious Disease floor (11 East), which is really exciting for me because the patient population will give me great experience for future work in developing countries. My manager seems to be very excited with my overseas experience and he is really supportive of my dreams and heart for international nursing. I will also be able to get certified as an HIV/AIDS nurse (this involves classes and training) and I will be part of their acute care fellowship (this is specifically for new grads and will help as I start my new career).

But first, Doug and I are headed to Hawaii to celebrate my brother’s marriage! We leave on June 8 and David’s wedding is June 20. We are really looking forward to this time especially since my whole family will be together for the first time in quite a while.

