About 2 months ago, Doug and I decided to start a crazy workout regimen. Perhaps you’ve heard of it: Insanity. It’s a DVD workout program that’s advertised on one of those Saturday or Sunday morning 30 minute infomercials. I’ll admit we were both not happy with how out of shape we had become and we were both ready for something to help us feel better. With a 60 day commitment and most of the DVD workouts less than an hour 6 times a week, we thought it was doable, especially with my work schedule. Of course, on days that I worked, it required me to get out of bed at 4am! But because I saw and felt results I somehow found it within me to get up and workout. Most days I was exhausted by 8:30pm, but I realized my days off were more productive and my body was all around happier (as well as thinner and stronger!).

We just recently finished. And the question remains: “What next?” We started running again. Maybe another marathon is in the near future? For all the times I told myself, “I can’t wait to be done with this!”, I find that I miss the early morning routine (*gasp* I never thought I’d be hearing that from myself!) and the daily workouts. Maybe I’ll do Insanity for a second 60 days?

But one thing is certain: I don’t want to lose what I’ve gained. And I’m not just talking about the strength (although, I am very happy that I can now do 100 push-ups!). I have gained a new insight on commitment, dedication, and perseverance. I started learning this in Haiti (realizing that I CAN get up early many days in a row and still be effective) and my early morning workouts helped me to understand so much more about myself.

