D and I are both feeling under the weather today, so this morning (when I had just a bit more energy) I decided I better throw something together for dinner – I knew come evening I wouldn’t feel like doing much. So, I looked once again to my crock pot and cleaned out my refrigerator/freezer. I did consult a few recipes, but mostly just mixed a bunch of ingredients together. Here’s what I combined:

1 lb ground turkey
1 cup frozen peas
1 cup frozen corn
1/4 cup frozen green beans (that’s all I had)
4 celery stalks, chopped into bite-sized pieces
1/3 of an onion, chopped
3 cups (approx.) bite-sized potatoes, thinly sliced into rounds
1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup
1 cup milk
basil
old bay seasoning
garlic powder
thyme
marjoram
1 bay leaf
salt and pepper to taste
Brown the ground turkey in a sauce pan. Combine all ingredients in crock pot. Mix well. Cook on high for 4-6 hours.
**If you remember, I’m not so good at measuring my spices – I couldn’t tell you how much I added of each (shake, shake, shake!)

What was missing/what I would change:
Carrots (Alas! If you remember my pot roast – those were the last 7 carrots to be found in the Porter household. Tragedy!)
Fresh garlic (The pot roast also took the last of the garlic…)
Fresh veggies instead of frozen (but… well, I think we need to make a trip to the grocery store!)

This was the perfect meal for a fall day, especially when we both didn’t feel like doing much. It was super easy to pull together (thanks to the frozen veggies!) and reminded me of one of my favorite “comfort meals”: shepherd’s pie. I really like crock pot recipes that don’t require pre-browning the meat, but with ground turkey it was inevitable (and proved to be quick as well) and, as you could probably guess, that was the last of the meat in the house…

