This was dinner from last night. And, oh, was it good! Although I have a great recipe that I got from my parents, I chose to use a simpler recipe that I learned when Doug and I were in Zimbabwe. Our hosts served us this amazing meal. It was the first time I had ever had Butternut soup and I have been hooked ever since. Every time Autumn comes around, we look forward to enjoying this filling soup. Here’s how I pulled it together (it’s always a little different every time since I don’t actually have it written down and, as you will see, measurements are missing – you should be used to this by now!):

1 Butternut Squash

1/2 cup water

1 tsp butter

Onion powder

Garlic powder

Thyme

Salt and pepper to taste

Milk, to make it your preferred consistency

Cut the squash in half lengthwise, sprinkle with salt, and lay face down in baking dish. Add 1/2 cup water to dish. Bake @ 350 degrees F for 1-1.5 hours until skin is browned and squash is tender. Let cool slightly. Scoop out squash with a spoon and put into a pot. Add the rest of the ingredients, mix well, and bring to a boil. If necessary, mash the squash so you aren’t left with big chunks.

I served the soup with fresh, homemade rolls. I love my bread machine as much as I love my crock pot!

