Since I have eliminated milk from my diet, I’ve had to become creative with food (or at least teach myself to ignore milk and cheese. Or more truthfully, try not to crave them…). So, for the sake of my little one I have given up some of my favorite things. While chatting with my sister-in-law one day, we were both commiserating about looking in the refrigerator and deciding on a meal (or even a snack) that didn’t include milk or a byproduct. It can be downright depressing (coming from someone whose favorite thing in the world is Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream), however I’m making it and it’s not so bad! So, here’s a big THANK YOU to my sister-in-law for understanding and providing mouth watering recipes to try. Here’s one of them – I know it’s summer, but this is actually quite good cold! It’s EASY too!

Ingredients (Chile butter):

1/4 cup unsalted butter

2 tbsp finely chopped green onions

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper

Ingredients (soup):

2 tbsp butter (see above)

1 1/2 pounds carrots, peeled, cut into 1/4 inch rounds

1 1/4 cup onion

1 yam, peeled, chopped (recipe calls for a 5 oz white skinned potato)

5 cups (or more) of vegetable or chicken broth

2 1/2 tbsp minced, peeled fresh ginger

Instructions:

Melt butter in large pot over medium high heat, add carrots, onion, potato, and ginger. Sprinkle salt and saute until vegetables are soft, but not brown. Add broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, simmer for 20 minutes. Cool slightly then puree until smooth. Return to pot and simmer. Season with salt and pepper to taste. You can serve with some nice fresh crusty bread (to sop up all the extra in your bowl!).

Note: I didn’t make the butter separate. Instead I just used 2 tbsp butter and added all the green onions and red pepper (this added a nice spicy kick to it). It was easier that way. Also, you can eliminate the butter all together.

Sorry there are no pictures (I always seem to think of that much too late…). Enjoy!

 

