I have to confess something. I love Costco, especially at lunch time on the weekends. If you aren’t familiar with Costco, you wouldn’t know that it is at these times that the store offers free samples of food products. You can sample anything from baked goods to dinner entrees to laundry detergent (I’d highly recommend refraining from eating this!). You can munch while you shop – nothing better! Of course, it’s their ploy for customers to spend more money, but if you are careful you can get only what’s on your list and enjoy a free “meal” at the same time.

One of the hardest things with cutting dairy and soy out of my diet is our weekly Costco run on Sundays after church. Now, instead of grazing on each and every sample table, I have to stop and read the ingredients. More often than not there is not one single item that I am able to sample. With this in mind, you must understand the excitement that boils up out of me when I come across a tasty dairy/soy free sample!

This happened on our last trip. After religiously reading the label on “Chicken Tortilla Soup”, Doug and I sampled it. It was so tasty, but I decided it should be easy enough to make and we resisted putting it in our cart. I was so excited to try this new recipe that I made it for dinner that evening. Yum! What follows is my own recipe and, since I couldn’t figure out for the life of me why Costco’s version had “Tortilla” in it, I renamed it. And I used my crock pot because I love it.

Mexican Chicken Soup

  • 2 Chicken breasts, thawed
  • 2 peppers, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 chicken bullion cubes
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 1 28oz can chunky crushed tomatoes
  • 1 can black beans
  • 3/4 bag frozen corn
  • Paprika, to taste
  • Cumin, to taste
  • Cilantro, to taste
  • Crushed red pepper, to taste
  • Chili powder, to taste
  • Sea salt, to taste
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • Lime juice, to taste

Put all ingredients in crock pot. Mix well. Cook on high 4-6 hours or low 8-10 hours. Use a fork to pull apart chicken. Mix. Serve with fresh baked bread or blue corn tortilla chips.

*You should know by now that I have a problem with using measuring spoons. So, of course, I didn’t measure the spices. I like the “shake” method! Also, this is a thick hearty soup. If you prefer a thinner soup, simply add more water/liquid!

