Recently, I had to opportunity to sub for the nurse at Doug’s school (grades 6-12). This was my first experience as school nurse (except for a few hours in nursing school). First of all, I was pretty nervous (it has been a little bit since I’ve been in “the field”). The school nurse from last year assured me it would be fun! So, I started getting excited, then nervous again. Did I mention I had an energetic almost-nineteen-month old with me (the school was in a real bind…)? How on earth was this all going to work out?

Weight and measurement: check. Enjoying it: not so much. For the record, he did this himself!

Day 1: Nathaniel was a perfect gentleman! He hugged the headmaster first thing, gave out plenty of fist bumps, blown kisses, high fives and smiles to every student who passed by in the halls, and went with Daddy to homeroom! Meanwhile, I gave out bandaids… The whole day worked out really well – when Doug was free, he took our little guy. All the other times, Nathaniel stayed with me. The awesome thing was that I had a walkie talkie, so I didn’t have to stay locked in an office all day long (because an open door with an energetic almost-nineteen-month old is WAY TOO tempting for escape exploration!). I just posted a note on the door and we went exploring! Did I mention he took a great nap in the afternoon too?!

How to keep an almost-nineteen-month old busy with post-it notes!

Day 2: Daddy didn’t have any free periods, so it was just Mommy and Baby all day. Oh boy, it was long… It didn’t help that the little man was tired from the get go. However, even though he was exhausted he wouldn’t just sit or stay in the health room with me. We had to be “walking”, BUT (here’s the catch) we would get halfway down the hall and I’d hear, “up up up!” and look beside me to see two very outstretched little arms. Poor thing. Meanwhile, I was juggling sick* students… Through all of this Nathaniel kept dishing out the smiles, fist bumps, high fives and flirting with all the pretty girls (he even took a short nap). All in all, we are extremely impressed with how he handled himself. He really did a great job.

Nurse Nate, day two

Would I do it again? Yes. Did I love it? Not yet. I’m used to crazy, insane, busy nursing and this was a very different experience. I found myself sitting for what seemed like hours in between student visits (I understand that this is normal for the beginning of the school year and, honestly, this is what I needed with my energetic almost-nineteen-month old, so I am in no way complaining!). If this were a more permanent position, I’m sure I would embrace it and find it “fun”! For now, though, I’m recovering (two concurrent full-time jobs will wear a person down…)

*sick – (adj.) to describe any feeling of discomfort, which can easily be remedied with: 1) an ice pack, 2) a bandaid, 3) vaseline, 4) a mint or 5) a cute little boy.

p.s. I forgot how much I love my scrubs!

p.p.s. I am indebted to third period study hall. They are Nathaniel’s new favorite people (and mine)!

